Skip to Content

Editorial Addendum to Issue 60: Snapshot of the Global Economy, Summer 2009

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionSend to friendSend to friend

Richard Waller collects images and links describing economic conditions in 2009.

The snapshot taken from a high-level page from the BBC News economy pages on 31 July 2009 should give future readers a notion of the situation to which many Ariadne authors allude.

screenshot (90KB) : A snapshot of BBC Economy News stories as displayed on 31 July 2009

A snapshot of BBC Economy News stories as displayed on 31 July 2009

Listed here is a representative set of stories:

The layman's finance crisis glossary
10:45 GMT, Friday, 15 May 2009 11:45 UK
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/magazine/7642138.stm

Timeline: Credit crunch to downturn
08:07 GMT, Thursday, 11 June 2009 09:07 UK
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/7521250.stm

US states face budget meltdowns
11:29 GMT, Thursday, 2 July 2009 12:29 UK
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/8130318.stm

China stocks fall on bubble fears
10:17 GMT, Wednesday, 29 July 2009 11:17 UK
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/8173746.stm

US goods orders suffer sharp fall
13:29 GMT, Wednesday, 29 July 2009 14:29 UK
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/8174990.stm

German unemployment rises in July
12:46 GMT, Thursday, 30 July 2009 13:46 UK
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/8176603.stm

Japan jobless at six-year record
06:31 GMT, Friday, 31 July 2009 07:31 UK
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/8177646.stm

'$10 trillion' credit crunch cost
08:44 GMT, Friday, 31 July 2009 09:44 UK
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/8177814.stm

19,000 shops 'closed this year'
13:03 GMT, Friday, 31 July 2009 14:03 UK
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/8177502.stm

Pace of US economic decline eases
15:15 GMT, Friday, 31 July 2009 16:15 UK
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/8178430.stm

British Airways makes £148m loss
16:12 GMT, Friday, 31 July 2009 17:12 UK
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/8177647.stm

UK savers get £21bn compensation
17:58 GMT, Friday, 31 July 2009 18:58 UK
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/8179096.stm

Editor, Ariadne

Return to top

Date published: 
30 July 2009

This article has been published under copyright; please see our access terms and copyright guidance regarding use of content from this article. See also our explanations of how to cite Ariadne articles for examples of bibliographic format.

How to cite this article

Richard Waller. "Editorial Addendum to Issue 60: Snapshot of the Global Economy, Summer 2009". July 2009, Ariadne Issue 60 http://www.ariadne.ac.uk/issue60/economic-snapshot


article | about seo